I am tired of deficient advice. I am tired of people telling me what I should do, but not how I should do it. Where’s the ‘how’? We hear advice every day. Politicians say, “Just lower spending” or “cut taxes”. Healthcare professionals tell us to “exercise more.” Sales gurus say things like “don’t focus on the gatekeepers” or “outflank your competition.” That sounds good, but let’s be honest, if we already knew how to do that, wouldn’t we be doing it? The truth is the ‘what’ is easy to identify, but the ‘how’ is really hard.

As I run my business, most of the time I find it’s not the ‘what’ I am after. I know that I should be doing ‘x’ or ‘y’. What I am really looking for is ‘how’ to implement ‘x’ and ‘y’ and make them work in my business. Even in today’s internet age, where the answer to everything just seems to be a click away, it is hard to find ‘how’.

There’s a reason most of us don’t do the things that the gurus say, or fail at them, and the reason is: most of us don’t know how to do them. Either we’re dumb and don’t understand what the experts are telling us or no one has ever taught us or showed us how to do it.

There’s a lot of what and why out there, but not a lot of how.  To combat this, I will try to add more ‘how’ to my posts this year.  And if anyone can tell me how someone gets 5,000+ twitter followers without sending a single tweet, please let me know.

