I cannot believe that it’s 2011.  Seriously, where does the time go?  I started my business, IP in Focus, in 2009.  (2 year anniversary coming up in March?!)  Last year at this time, I resolved that I would write a blog about good IP Management practices for every business.   Now it’s 2011 and there are new and exciting things on the horizon, so I just wanted to give my readers an update as to what’s been going on and what to expect in 2011.

I know I’ve been pretty quiet for some time.  I started off like gang busters, plateaued over the summer, and then kind of went silent.  It’s not that I have nothing to say.  (Heaven knows I always have something to say.)  I’ve just had a lot to do, and I’d like to share what I’ve been doing. 

Last Fall, I started working with a business coach to get my business in shape.   I know I can provide the legal and consulting services, but running a business is new to me, so I got some help.  I’ve been working with my coach to help me figure out basic things like what services do I want to offer my clients, who are my target clients, and why do I want to be in business anyway.  Things like a mission statement and a marketing plan.  All the things that go into a successful business whether that business is a legal services firm, a hair salon, or a grocery store.   I know we in the legal profession call what we do “law practice”, but let’s face it, I’m not in the ‘practice’ of law.  I’m running a business, and I want it to be a successful one.  To that end, my coach has really helped me focus on my business, understand where I need to put my resources and energies, and get me thinking about my ‘practice’ in a whole new way.

With a new firm foundation under my feet, 2011 will be an exciting year for IP in Focus.  A new website is on the horizon and will be launched in early Spring.  The IP conversation will continue with regular content on this blog, and with more speaking engagements.  (I’ll be speaking about IP at a networking gathering in late March!)   

I look forward to bringing you the latest and greatest insights into IP management, and hope to see you all in 2011.

